Marriage License and Minister Credentials
Age 18 or Older: Couples wishing to obtain a marriage license must provide proof of age. Please bring one of the following: a valid State or Government issued ID, this may be a driver's license, state id, passport, etc. No waiting period is required for those persons over the age of 18 before a license may be issued or the ceremony performed.
Age 16-17: Parental consent is required. One parent or legal guardian of the 16-17 year old must be present. The parent, if divorced, must show proof they are the custodial parent (court filed divorce decree or temporary custody order)and provide a valid photo ID. Legal guardian must show Letter of Guardianship and provide a valid photo ID. Birth certificate and photo ID are required for minors. There is a required 72 hour waiting period. You must apply for your license and come back after 72 hours to obtain the issued license. Exemption is only by written waiver signed by a Judge.
Age 15 and Under: Marriage for ages under 16 is prohibited in this state unless by a court order.
Divorce: Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone other than their previous spouse for a period of six months after the divorce decree is filed. A Certified copy of the filed divorce decree will need to be presented at the time of the application.
Blood Test: Oklahoma law no longer requires a premarital blood test
Residency: There are no residency requirements
Time Sensitive: The license is valid for 10 days from the date of issuance. The completed marriage license must be returned to the Court Clerk's office within 10 days from the date of marriage. This may be done in person or through the mail.
Wedding Ceremony: Judges in Logan County do not perform wedding ceremonies.
Fees: The cost for a marriage license is $50.00 cash or credit card. If premarital counseling is completed, the cost is reduced to $5.00.
Premarital Counseling: A letter on letterhead showing the named persons have successfully completed the required number of hours must be presented at the time of filing the license to receive the discount. O.S. 43 §5.1
By law, those performing marriage ceremonies in the State of Oklahoma must record their credentials with the Court Clerk's Office prior to performing the marriage ceremony.
Oklahoma Ministers: Ministers must record their credentials in the county that they reside in (a valid driver's license with current address must be presented)
Non-Resident Ministers: Minister's who live outside of Oklahoma who desire to perform a marriage ceremony in our State must file their credentials with the Court Clerk in the county where they are performing the marriage ceremony.
Once a minister is registered in any county in the state, the credentials are good for the entire State of Oklahoma.
There is no fee required to register your Certificate of Ordination. Once registered, the clerk will give you a book and page number which you will use when completing the bottom portion of a Marriage License.