The Logan County Board of Commissioners is accepting applications for the 522 Crescent EMS Board. Applicants must live within the Crescent School District. Applications may be picked up at the Courthouse Annex 312 E. Harrison Ste 101 in Guthrie or at the Logan County District 3 shop- 13600 W. COUNTY RD #71 in Crescent.
For state and county burn ban information go to http://www.forestry.ok.gov/burn-ban-information.
GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT BURN BANS
Enacting Burn Ban No Light Matter
The decision by a Board of County Commissioners to enact a burn ban is more complex than some realize. It is not done lightly, since there are statutory requirements which MUST be met before a ban can be enacted. This article explains the process for implementing a burn ban, as practiced by Logan County under the guidance of Oklahoma Forestry Services.
To reduce the threat of wildfire, Article 16 Section 16-26 of the Oklahoma Forestry Code authorizes the Governor to declare a ban on outdoor burning, based upon drought conditions and the recommendation of the Forestry Division. County commissioners are also authorized to exercise similar authority at county level. They may enact a burn ban for up to 30 days, provided they follow certain procedures and meet specific conditions.
Prior to the passage of a burn ban, the Board must declare the existence of extreme fire danger. This means the following conditions MUST exist:
1. Moderate, severe or extreme drought exists as determined by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
2. No more than 1/2" of precipitation is forecast for the next three days
3. Fire occurrence is greater than normal for the season and/or initial attack on a significant number of wildland fires has been unsuccessful due to extreme fire behavior
4. More than 20% of wildfires in the county have been caused by escaped debris burning or controlled burning activities, and...
5. Commissioners must also document that a majority of the county's municipal and certified rural departments agree that extreme fire danger exists.
Once a burn ban is enacted, it becomes effective immediately. It can also be cancelled before the 30 days expire, but this must be done by resolution.
On the same day that a ban is implemented, notification must be made to the Departments of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Public Safety, Tourism and Recreation, Wildlife Conservation, local news media and local law enforcement officials. Boards of Commissioners may include certain exceptions within a burn ban, and these can differ from county to county.
Accessing the Oklahoma Forestry website allows you to view a map illustrating counties beneath a burn ban and the resolution pertaining to each.
Using common sense when it comes to outdoor burning is still the best prevention of wildfire. Mowing grass, keeping leaves and debris away from structures and using caution when conducting outdoor burning may prevent loss of life and property. As one Logan County fire department official said, "It helps us if they (the citizens) help themselves."